How I Stay Organized

For those of you who know me well, you know that I am attached at the hip to my planner. I put everything in it from class deadlines, to meeting notes, to-do lists, and many more! Well, I consider myself a fairly organized person so here I will share the things that help keep me organized.

First, the planner. I get my planners from Plum Paper and this year I experimented with a new layout. These planners are fairly customizable and there are a bunch of add-ons that you can have them put in. Since I just got this planner about two weeks ago, it doesn’t have a ton in it, but I am starting to fill things in.

20160621_141619

?

As you can see inside, it is sectioned off by different things going on in my life. I was able to customize these and that makes me very happy. My intention is to use these sections as to-do lists, rather than having meetings/events scheduled like many people do with their planners.

20160621_145256

?

There is also a monthly calendar that I will use for important events. Additionally, I have added a lot of notes pages to this planner so that I can use it as a place for me to take notes during meetings. That way, I always have the information that I need handy in one location.

20160621_141631

?

In addition to my paper planner, I also use my Outlook calendar for appointments and meetings. The great thing about this is that it allows me to get reminders on my phone so I know which meeting is coming up next. My institution uses Outlook for email, so this is the easiest tool for me to use, but there are many other calendar applications out there that are also great!

Calendar

Another way I stay organized is by color coding. As you can see above, my calendar is color-coded according to what the meeting is. Additionally, I use that color coding system in my planner as well. This just helps to keep things lined up in my head.

I think one of the most important things about organization is experimenting to find out what works for you! For me, the mix of paper planner for accomplishing tasks and electronic calendar for scheduling works wonders. Try out different systems and eventually you will find something that helps you stay on top of your tasks.

What tools do you use to stay organized? Are there any tools or systems that you want to try?

Leave a Reply

