What I’ve Been Reading

From time to time, I like to share what I have been reading so that I can share the knowledge that I have learned and hopefully inspire others to read some great books! Today I have two books that I would like to tell y’all about.

Missoula1

First, is Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer. You may have heard of this book, since it is becoming fairly popular, and it is one that I definitely recommend for anyone working with college students. I first picked up this book from an Amazon search after I got confirmation that my fall internship would be working in Violence Prevention Programs. This book particularly appealed to me because Grand Forks (Home of UND) is a fairly similar town to Missoula: similar population size and demographics, situated around a mid-sized state university, the town is obsessed with football in Missoula’s case and hockey in Grand Forks’. After I started reading, I could hardly put it down. Krakauer keeps you hanging on each word as he describes the cases of five young women in Missoula who were allegedly assaulted and their experiences with the justice system and university system. This is a very emotional book, but also a powerful one as it fueled my passion for helping prevent sexual assault, as well as to fight for victims in cases of violence.

13608556

The second great book that I’ve read recently is Second Son: Transitioning Toward My Destiny, Love, and Life by Ryan Sallans. This was one of those books that I got a few months ago and had been meaning to read, but kept forgetting. I met Ryan Sallans back at the MACURH Conference in late October and my supervisor and co-advisor kindly purchased his memoir for me. Well, I’m glad I finally read it, because it gave me many new perspectives on the experiences of the LGBTQ+ community. In this book, Sallans writes about his experience with transition from female to male and how it affected his romantic relationship, career, self-esteem, family relationships, and more. As campuses become more sensitive to the needs of the LGBTQ+ community, it is important for Student Affairs professionals (and grad students!) to be more educated on their experiences. This book is a pretty good start for at least learning about one man’s experience.

What have you been reading lately? What’s next up on your list?

Leave a Reply

